Vie Francigene of Sicily: stages of 4 routes to discover the island on foot

The Via Francigena It is a series of ancient pilgrimage routes connecting various European regions and used by pilgrims who, in medieval times, headed for Rome and, in some cases, even further afield, as far as Jerusalem.

Specifically, in Sicily, the Vie Francigene are routes that follow the ancient road network built by the Romans and then the medieval roads used by pilgrims.

The most important are 4: the Magna via Francigena, Via Francigena Normanna, Via Francigena Fabaria and Via Francigena Mazarense.

These are really very evocative routes that offer the opportunity for those who follow them to fully immerse themselves in the Sicilian history and cultureas well as providing a walking and pilgrimage experience.

In addition, the Vie Francigene in Sicily offers an alternative and exciting way to explore the island by following its route.

Let’s discover the 4 Via Francigene in Sicily, with the route and stages of each one, for a truly unforgettable travel experience.

Magna Via Francigena

The Magna Via Francigena connects Sicily from north to south, starting in Palermo and reaching Agrigento, crossing the Madonie mountains along the way, crossing bridges, old customs and an evocative landscape.

The pilgrimage route is divided into 9 different stages, for a total of approximately 190 kilometers. The first stage, as mentioned, starts from Palermo and reaches S.Cristina Gela, the second reaches Corleone, the third to Prizzi, the fourth to Castronovo, a lovely village perched on the side of a mountain.

The fifth stage starts from here and reaches Cammarata/S. Giovanni Gemini, the sixth in the lands of the municipalities of S. Giovanni Gemini and Sutera.

From here we start again, with the seventh stage, to the Grotte, the eighth includes the arrival at Joppolo Giancaxio. The ninth and final stage of the Magna Via Francigena leads to the finish line in magnificent Agrigento.

Norman Via Francigena


The Norman Via Francigena is a very long and winding route that is about 390 kilometers long and crosses Sicily from Palermo to Messina, crossing the Sicilian Apennines, Madonie, Nebrodi and Peloritani.

It is a particularly complicated route, with many hills to overcome, but of really significant scenic and historical beauty, once traveled by Norman kings and pilgrims heading to Rome or Jerusalem.

Francigena Fabaria
Francigena Fabaria

The Via Francigena Fabaria route starts in Agrigento and ends in Maniace, near Catania.

It is a route divided into 13 different stages for a total of approximately 300 kilometers, in which you can explore the unique charm of southern Sicily and the Greek hinterland, including natural beauty, culture and history.

The first stage, as mentioned, starts from Agrigento and reaches Palma di Montechiaro, from here we started again for Licata. The third stage of the Via Francigena Fabaria reaches Falconara, the fourth to Gela, the fifth to Niscemi, the sixth to Caltagirone.

From here we set off again for Grammichele and Militello in Val di Catania and then stop at Lentini and then Simeto. The tenth stage reaches PaternĂ², the eleventh to Adrano, the twelfth to Bronte, before reaching the final finish line in Maniace.

Via Francigena Mazarense

Mazara del Vallo
Mazara del Vallo

The Via Francigena Mazanrense follows westwards the coastal section of the ancient Roman road called the Selinuntina in the section from Agrigento to Mazara and then departs from the coast to reach its terminus in Palermo.

It is a route of moderate difficulty, approximately 325 kilometers long in total, divided into 14 stages.

Along the way you come across evocative places rich in history such as Porto Empedocle, Ribera, Sciacca, Mazara del Vallo, Marsala and Alcamo.

Leave a Comment